Mount Vernon (New York)

Here is general information about Mount Vernon in New York

Mount Vernon statistic

Coordinates 40°54′51″N 73°49′50″W
Country United States
State New York
County Westchester
Incorporated (as a village) 1853
Reincorporated (as a city) 1892
Elevation 108 ft (33 m)
Time zone UTC−5 (Eastern)
Area code(s) 914
FIPS code 36-49121
GNIS feature ID 0957917
Government (Type) Mayor-Council
Government (Mayor) Shawyn Patterson-Howard (D)
Government (City Council) Members' List Derrick Thompson (D) PresidentDanielle Browne (D) President Pro TemporeCathlin Gleason (D) Acting President Pro TemporeLisa Copeland (D)Edward Poteat (D)
Government (Total) 4.41 sq mi (11.42 km2)
Government (Land) 4.39 sq mi (11.38 km2)
Government (Water) 0.02 sq mi (0.04 km2)
Area (Total) 4.41 sq mi (11.42 km2)
Area (Land) 4.39 sq mi (11.38 km2)
Area (Water) 0.02 sq mi (0.04 km2)
Population (2020) (Total) 73,893
Population (2020) (Density) 17,000/sq mi (6,500/km2)

Time difference between Mount Vernon and other cities

Other cities info:

Mount Vernon is a city in Westchester County, New York, United States. It is an inner suburb of New York City, immediately to the north of the borough of the Bronx. As of the 2020 census, Mount Vernon had a population of 73,893, making it the eighth most populous city in the state (2010). Mount Vernon has two major sections. South-side Mount Vernon is more urban while north-side Mount Vernon is more residential. Mount Vernon's downtown business district is on the city's south side, which features the City Hall, Mount Vernon's main post office, Mount Vernon Public Library, office buildings, and other municipal establishments.

Mount Vernon photos